back to article Jet-powered go-kart roars onto eBay

Those of you with a need for speed may be interested in this eBay auction which is offering "for the price of a sports motorcycle" a jet-powered go-kart guaranteed to attract all the right kind of attention: A photo of the jet-powered go-cart UNIQUE OPPORTUNITY - A GAS TURBINE (JET ENGINE) POWERED GO KART WITH AFTERBURNER/ …

COMMENTS

This topic is closed for new posts.
  1. Andy

no ejector seat?

I see they've failed to fit the ejector seat. amature.

2. Sean Nevin

Engine design

I am an electronics engineer, and not a mechanical or aeronautical engineer, but I can't help but notice the intake for that engine... It seems to be just a dryer exhaust tube leading to the side. I not sure of the actual numbers involved, but I would think that while the jet probably works, it does not work "too well". As it would not get enough air into the engine to really bring it up to Mach-anything speeds.

But again, while I know exactly how the electronics and digital meters work, engines are not my specialty.

Still looks pretty damn cool though!

3. Alan

I want it!

..If only I could afford it. Not sure that I'd have the stones to drive it tho..

4. Anonymous Coward
    Anonymous Coward

Low flying Jet.

"Mind you, the idea of giving a speed camera the finger while doing Mach 0.6 round the M25 is rather appealing"

It reminds me of a story a friend of mine once told me. He was out doing a traffic survay for the police in south Wales, doing some part time work in Sixth Form. Getting bored the saw a Tornado aproching them at low altitude and dicided to point the radar gun at it. Apparently they clocked it at 400+ mph. However they think it didnt do to much good for the gun as the next car that passed them (On a narrow country lane) was clocked at 125 mph. By all accounts they didnt get another sensable reading out of it again. Sounds like a good way for the anti speed camera people to go.

5. Alain Fisher

Genius!